Old timers.

Today, I went to go visit my great-aunt and uncle (grand/great, same thing). Uncle Honor is my grandfather’s brother, and Auntie Setsuko is his wife. She’s Japanese. Sadly, they’re not visited much, but it was nice to hear that some of my other family was just there recently. I usually visit them after I get a car tinted in the area at least haha. It kinda sucks that they don’t have kids. I wish I could sit them down and talk about their lives and what they’ve been through. Things they’ve learned and come across the way. We did talk a little, though. They’ve been together for 62 years. That is crazy. Imagine being with the same person for 62 years straight. Can you even fathom that? I can’t even think of being 62 right now!

What I leave with is this: If you still have grandparents that are still living on this earth, go visit them. If you can’t visit them, call them. Don’t wait until they’re not here anymore to talk to them. Old people get lonely. Even the smallest gesture could brighten up their day. Don’t wait until it’s too late! The stories, memories, and knowledge that they have in their head won’t last forever.

Leave a Reply

